Strong Beer Festival!

28 Mar

This weekend I headed to Munich, Germany to check out their annual strong beer festival! While I loved seeing Berlin, I was not ready to face the cold of Germany again especially now that the weather in Florence was so beautiful! But Munich ended up being one of my favorite trips so far! We got in on Friday morning and started out with a bike tour of the city. We saw all the major sites around Munich, including the nude park (ew!) and my favorite the river surfing! It reminded me of the wedge in Newport Beach at home how all of these risky boys have a huge crowd of people watching them do tricks! We took a lunch break at the second largest beer garden in the world and got bratwurst and beer. All of the food I had in Munich was SO much better than the sausages I tried in Berlin so I’m glad I gave German food another try! That night we went to Lowenbraukeller strong beer festival. There was a beauty pageant, a strong man competition and all of the Germans were dressed in Lederhosen! It was such a fun night, one of my favorites since I have been abroad! The next morning we woke up and headed to the Old Town Hall and…Starbucks finally : ) As much as a love my Italian cappuccinos it was nice to have a little America in my life haha. That afternoon we went to the Dachau concentration camp. It was incredibly sad, but an amazing experience! We went to Hofbrauhaus Beer Hall that night with a bunch of friends and tried the traditional German Roast Chicken and met some locals! On Sunday it was rainy and we learned Germans only do two things on Sundays…Pray and Drink. The ONLY things open in the whole city were the churches and beer halls haha. So naturally we went along with the culture and did as the Germans do until we headed back to Florence that night!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At the Beer Hall!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bike Tour

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

River Surfing

3 Responses to “Strong Beer Festival!”

  1. debi stanley March 29, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    hi christine

    uncle mark and i had such a great time in italy!! seeing you was the icing on the cake….we just LOVED meeting your friends and seeing
    all of your favorite places…sorry i wasn’t a huge gelato fan but i did love a good italian cookie!!!! looking forward to reading about
    more of your adventures!!! sammy says “hi”!
    love and miss you…see you in texas
    love
    aunt debi

    • christinekabel March 29, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

      Ah Thanks Deb! I had SO much fun with you guys here, I am so glad you guys came out and got to see Florence. I can’t wait to see you guys again this summer, tell the fam I say hi! Love you!!

  2. Fiona April 8, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    wow! that surfing thing looks scary. any ambulances like at the wedge?

Leave a Reply

