Buona Pasqua!

17 May

Our last weekend in Italy happened to be Easter weekend. While I missed my family and wished I could be with them, I wanted to enjoy the few days I had left and we ended up having a great Easter in Florence! Since Italy is 90% Catholic, I knew it would be a big day. We all met to check out the celebration in the morning at the Duomo, it was crazy crowded! We stood in the cathedral, and a procession of religious figures walked through until a fake dove flew through from the baptistry to the middle of the cathedral. If the dove returns, it is good luck! There were fireworks and pink smoke surrounding the Duomo! Later we went got cappuccinos on top of Rinascente overlooking the parade. We had planned to have a picnic in the gardens, but  since it was cold and cloudy, we had a picnic at Chelsea’s apartment instead of the gardens. While I missed my family, we had a memorable easter in Italy and a great last weekend!

Leave a Reply

